Starbucks CEO Howard Schultz receives Pace Award for Leadership in Ethics

February 14, 2014

Arlington, VA – The Ethics Resource Center is pleased to honor Howard Schultz, chairman, president and chief executive officer and the partners (employees) of Starbucks Coffee Company with the 2013 Stanley C. Pace Award for Leadership in Ethics. ERC presented Mr. Schultz with the award on Wednesday, October 16th in Seattle, WA.

Created to honor individuals recognized as having unwavering integrity, The Pace Award was established in 2000. ERC chooses an honoree who exhibits moral vision, as well as the ability to translate that vision into specific goals. Mr. Schultz was selected to receive the award because of his demonstrated ethical leadership in establishing a values-based organization with high standards of quality, service to the community, and respect for humanity. The company was also selected because of its well-implemented ethics and compliance program, designed to perpetuate Mr. Schultz’s strong tone from the top.

Howard Schultz joined Starbucks as director of operations in 1982, after moving from New York to Seattle. At that time, Starbucks had only four stores. Since that time, Starbucks has grown substantially, now with over 20,000 stores across the globe. Mr. Schultz has led a transformation of the company by focusing on Starbucks coffee heritage, innovation and the customer experience. The mission of the company is to inspire and nurture the human spirit – one person, one cup and one neighborhood at a time.

“Howard Schultz and the partners at Starbucks work tirelessly to not only produce a quality product; they care deeply about achieving success by upholding the company’s values,” said ERC President, Patricia Harned. “As a result, Starbucks has set a standard as an organization that contributes to the well-being of its employees, its customers and the communities in which it operates. Howard’s dedication to ethical leadership sets the standard, and the partners of the company share in his passion. For that reason, ERC is pleased to recognize Howard and his team with this year’s award.”

Past recipients of the Stanley C. Pace Award for Leadership in Ethics:
2010- Louis Chênevert
2009- Carol Marshall
2008- Jean Paul Agon
2007- Stephen Potts
2006- Charles Bowsher
2005- Aaron Feurerstein
2004- Norman R. Augustine
2003- John E. Pepper
2002- Ira A. Lipman
2001- Sir Mark Moody-Stuart
2000- Founders of Transparency International